Personal Injury Statute of Limitations by State
Last reviewed: October 2026 · How we research: How We Research Quick answer: In most U.S. states you have 2 or 3 years from the date of an injury to file a personal injury lawsuit. The shortest deadline is 1 year (Kentucky and Tennessee) and the longest is 6 years (Maine, Minnesota and North Dakota).